Saltwater

photo-20160215084213932


I don’t know how long I’d been walking that path. Every further step I took, my legs cried to be put to rest on the sandy ground below. I ignored them: I had to do this. I had to do it today.

I came upon the spot I was looking for eventually, right in front of Frank’s Hot Dog Shack on a smooth and sandy portion of the Maine coast. The sun was just barely hanging onto the horizon. Maybe it was glad to see I made it.

I went to the edge of the water, and let my eyes close and the refreshingly brisk water wash over my feet. I kept my eyes shut as I lifted my little brother’s favorite Matchbox car up to my lips and placed a gentle kiss on the hood, then tossed it into the ocean. My salty tears dripped from my cheek, joining their kin in the salty ocean.

The same ocean that took him from me ten years ago.


“Saltwater” is my submission the 53rd FFfAW Challenge (Check it out here). It is composed of 168 words.

If you enjoyed this story, don’t forget to like, comment your thoughts, and subscribe for more of my short stories. You could even share this blog with your pals if you wanted to spread the joy of reading! Thank you and have an awesome day!

 

10 thoughts on “Saltwater

  1. This is a very heart touching, wonderful story! A beautiful story of a man going on a pilgrimage in honor of his little brother’s memory. I wanted to remind you to link up your story to the InLinkz board so the other participants can read and enjoy it too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment